First day of school

Today we officially started school.

Of course, it is just with my younger three since my oldest uses the county virtual school, and her program doesn’t start till next Monday. She had an activity that took her out of the house today (Going to the water park with some teen friends. My younger kids cried “unfair!”)

Anyway, having one less child in the house on the first day of school was rather pleasant.

We took an easy first day, mostly because I had nothing ready that I was supposed to do. Also, I woke up at 3 am when my husband went to work and couldn’t get back to sleep, and I was really dragging by 11:30.

The kids and I organized and sorted. We installed computer programs, and I walked them through a few lessons and how things were going to be set up for the year.

After I took a little (Okay, not so little. It was about 2 hours) nap, I spent about two hours writing a six-week lesson plan for my second daughter. She can work mostly independently, but she needs a checklist. She’s the only one I write lesson plans for. I’m almost done with the lesson plan, except for history. I’ll probably tackle that after supper or tomorrow, early.

My younger kids enjoyed the new hymn books I made them, and they sang along eagerly with the CD.

Overall, I’d say it was a good day, and we got plenty of stuff accomplished.

For the first week, I plan on easing into the school routine. It’s as hard for me as it is for them. We’re going to work on getting up earlier, getting books out for an hour or two, staying off the screens until after supper, and just working in a good routine.

Next week, I plan on adding all of our subjects, integrating a chore routine, and fine tuning my juggling of teaching the kids.

Leave a Reply

My Fitness Pal Tracker

