Open My Eyes, Lord

“Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.”

Psalm 119:18

Sometimes, I sit down to read my Bible, and every other verse seems to speak amazing truths to my heart.  However, there are other days when I do my Bible study and I feel that I may as well be reading the New York Times for all of the spiritual nourishment I’m receiving.

What makes the difference?

I am a believer. I have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, and I know that I am his child.  However, there are days when I am just not very spiritually minded. I allow distractions of my life, my sinful actions, my emotions, and fatigue to interfere with my relationship with Him. I’m not being filled with the Spirit throughout the day (Ephesians 5:18).  I’m not focusing my heart on Him and what I need Him to be in my heart.

See, I’m a hot mess, and quite often, I treat my morning Bible study and prayer time as an isolated event in my life that has no application to the rest of my life. I read the Word, pray, and praise. Then I close my Bible, set it away, and continue throughout my day as I had planned it.

I don’t take the time to turn my heart toward my Father at any other time in the day.

I don’t bring my needs to the throne; I’m too busy solving my own problems.

I don’t confess sin immediately after I do it; that person deserved my reaction.

I tap my toe and hum along with the Christian radio station, but I’m not really listening to the words of the songs. I just like the tune or the beat.

When I live my life this way, I’m not being sensitive to the whispers of the Holy Spirit in my life. I’ve pretty much blocked Him out of my heart. I don’t behave as a person in utter, total dependence on Him. After all, I spent my time with the Father in the morning. I’ve checked that off of my list for the day.

My mind is not seeking Him.

My heart is not yearning for his touch.

I’m not listening.

This mind-set eventually invades that hour that I’ve blocked off in the morning as my “Bible Time.”

You see, the Holy Spirit’s voice is not something that I can turn on when I feel like hearing from him. Then, I can turn him off when I am living the rest of my life. He doesn’t work like that. That sensitivity to His voice takes practice.

If I haven’t been practicing my “Listening Skills” so to speak, my Bible time will be stale, dull, and lifeless. The Scripture will be just words on the page.

I Corinthians 2: 9-12 says, ” But, as it is written, “What no eye has seen, nor ear heard, nor the heart of man imagined, what God has prepared for those who love him”— these things God has revealed to us through the Spirit. For the Spirit searches everything, even the depths of God. For who knows a person’s thoughts except the spirit of that person, which is in him? So also no one comprehends the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God. Now we have received not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, that we might understand the things freely given us by God.”

We need the Spirit working in our lives to “Open the eyes of our hearts” so that we can have a fuller understanding of His Word.

Try this:

Every morning before you open the Word, first, confess your sin. Purify yourself before the Father so that there is nothing between you and Him.

Next, pray that the Holy Spirit would give you some amazing truth during your time with Him. Tell the Spirit that you want to hear His voice and obey it.

Then, read slowly through your passage.  Stop periodically, and make sure that you are comprehending the meaning of the Word. If you’ve scanned too quickly and don’t remember much about the previous few verses, go back and read them again.  Think about the meaning and ask the Lord to show you how it applies to your life.

After you’ve closed your Bible, pray quietly that God would bring these applications to mind throughout the day.

I promise you, approaching your Bible time in this way will make it more interesting, joyful, and meaningful.

Praying that God will “Open the eyes of your heart” is one prayer that God will always answer.

Photo Credit: George Bannister, Bible Study 1, via Flikr

Bible Study 1

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rebeca Jones
    Aug 18, 2014 @ 22:34:10

    Well said! It is all too easy to fall into that autopilot mindset when I have my time with the Lord. I will take these words to heart when I sit down tomorrow morning. Thank you for a lovely reminder!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Fitness Pal Tracker

