Time Management God’s Way

But I trust in You, O Lord; I say, “You are My God.” My times are in your hand. Rescue me from the hand of my enemies and from my persecutors!

Psalm 31:14-15

One of the most annoying things that my children say to me is, “I’m bored.” This phrase often pops out of their mouths after I’ve banned them from the television, Wii, and the computer. Usually they say things like this while I am working my tail off.

It’s rather stupid to complain of boredom to the lady who is scraping and painting a door frame outside on a hot July afternoon. But, I digress…

As moms, we often have more things on our to-do lists than we can possibly get done each day. When you have an infant or a toddler, things that should take about 10 minutes can take an hour or more. Then, 30 minutes later, you may have to do it all over again.  This can be so frustrating.

When a child misbehaves or is just plain silly,  we say or think, “Hey, I don’t have TIME for this!” We get antsy, irritable, and ornery because dealing with interruptions, disobedience, and childish mistakes were not on the list for the day.

I am often in this boat. I measure whether or not the day was successful by the number of things that I can check off my list. I mean, when your husband comes home at the end of the day, it feels better to say, “I painted the trim, sewed a dress, cooked a meal from scratch, and have the whole house sparkling, ” than to admit that you didn’t manage get out of your PJ’s until 1 pm, your son still doesn’t know his spelling list, and you cleaned spit up off of the sofa five separate times that day.

I’ve learned something though in the past few years. I can barrel through my to-do list, barking orders, and shoving my kids aside, or I can learn to go with the flow a little more. While I still do believe that it’s important to be diligent and try to accomplish something useful each day, I’ve learned that I also have to allow for interruptions and difficulties.

My children behaving like children is no reason to get myself worked up, crabby, and frustrated. That is not their problem. It is MY problem.

I love the verse I quoted above. Psalm 34:14-15 reminds me that my time is in God’s hand, and I should trust Him when life is not going according to plan. However, the last sentence is equally as important:

Rescue me from the hand of my enemies and from my persecutors!

The enemy of our souls loves nothing more than when we allow our plans to supersede what God has for us. If he can’t take us to Sheol with him, Satan wants to make us as ineffective in our walks as he can. He does this by distracting us with work that seems meaningful, but in God’s eyes is worthless.

On my crazy busy days, I’ve learned to make a habit of praying over my to-do list. I ask that God would bless my work today, whatever it turns out to be.  I also submit to God that I want to get done “only what He wants me to get done.” Doing this allows me to turn loose of the tyranny of the list. I can relax a bit, knowing that the inevitable interruptions of life aren’t my family trying to drive me bonkers, but God pushing aside MY plans and substituting His own for that moment in time.

List making

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

My Fitness Pal Tracker

