Look into the Light, Please!

The movie Men in Black featured a really awesome gadget called neuralyzer. You looked right into a bright light and your traumatic, strange, and unexplainable memories simply disappeared.

Too bad those things don’t really exist.

There are so many things that I have put into my mind that I wish I could erase.

Books I never should have read.

Movies that I never should have seen. (I do see the irony in referencing a movie full of bad language in a blog post about guarding my heart!)

Songs that I memorized a long time ago. I can hear a tune on a commercial or in some other place and instantly, I am singing along. (Too bad Scripture memory isn’t as easy!)

I wish I could go back and have some do-overs, but in real life, that opportunity doesn’t exist. However, what I can do right now is to be really careful about what I allow to penetrate to my heart.

It seems that when we are young we under-estimate the influence that things that we see and hear have on our lives.

We don’t realize that once a visual is in our head; once a set of lyrics are right there in our memories,; once we’ve read a book or magazine with questionable content, it stays with us.

It never goes away.

Of course, God’s grace is huge and he forgives us for taking in stuff that we shouldn’t have taken in. However, remembering how that stuff sticks in my head encourages me to be very careful with what I consume.

Proverbs 4:23 tells me:

Keep your heart with all vigilance, for from it flow the springs of life.

What I am and what I will become in the future is directly related to the condition of my heart. My heart will not be focused on the things of God if I am constantly filling it with un-Godly influences.

Phillipians 4:8 encourages us as believers with what we ARE supposed to put in our hearts.

Whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

What I put in my head can either help me do what God wants me to do; or it can be a rip-tide against which I must swim in my efforts to do what God wants. Honestly, I am such a Hot Mess on my own, I don’t need any other temptations dragging me down.

neuralyzer copy

How do you guard your hearts? How are you proactive in filling your mind with Christ? Am I the only one who wishes that life handed me a couple of Do-Overs? Leave a comment below.


					
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kjam10
    Sep 18, 2014 @ 08:32:57

    This is so true…great reminder, friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Fitness Pal Tracker

