What Can You Do With 90 Seconds?

I’ve badly neglected this blog in the past few weeks. It is the season of insanity.

We’ve had calves born.

School is ramping up.

Our homeschool group is full of activities.

We’re finishing up in the garden and getting the house ready for the winter.

On top of all that, we had one of those weeks where EVERYTHING broke. Freezers, cars, farm equipment, toilets…You’ve been there, I know!

When my life gets hectic, it’s really important for me to make wise use of even the tiny bits of time. I’ve learned that you can get way more done than you thought in tiny fragmented minutes.

Each morning, I drink a cup of very weak coffee, heavy on the creamer and with lots of sugar. When I make this drink, I usually end up microwaving it for a minute and a half. I’ve learned that in that short period that my microwave is running, I can get more done than I ever imagined.

In 90 seconds I can do one of the following:

  • Unload half of the dishwasher.
  • Wash 2-3 pots from supper last night.
  • Strip a bed of its sheets.
  • Switch laundry from the washer to the dryer, provided nothing needs to be hung up.
  • Empty a trash can.
  • Sweep the kitchen.
  • Read half of a Psalm.
  • Empty the fridge of old food and pile it on the counter to discard later.
  • Put all the junk on the counters away.
  • Wipe down the counters if there’s not a pile of junk on them.
  • Check most of my daughter’s 4th grade math assignment.
  • Windex my kitchen door.
  • Windex my oven, microwave, and dishwasher.
  • Swish and swipe a toilet.
  • Make a meal plan for the next 2 days.
  • Get out meat for dinner.
  • Add to my shopping list.

clock

Now, I don’t drink THAT much coffee so I don’t do all that every day, but my point is that many common household chores take very small snippets of time. So instead of just standing there while I am waiting for the water in the shower to get hot, or waiting on my coffee to heat, or waiting for a child to get done in the bathroom, if I just do one thing, I will have one less thing on my to-do list.

What can YOU do with 90 seconds?

Photo Credit: Clock by David Stokes, via Flikr

Leave a Reply

My Fitness Pal Tracker

