Thunderclouds and Tight Pants

Have you ever woken up in a foul mood?

Perhaps you got to bed too late the night before, or woke up too early.

Maybe you were just awakened a few times in the night by a needy child or by a hot flash.

It could be that you could only find the pants that are a little too snug or the undies that constantly ride up.

The dirty dishes from last night still stare at you from the kitchen counter, and apparently, nobody did their household chores for at least three days.

Maybe you are just overwhelmed with what all you have to do today and it’s raining. Again.

Whatever the reason, we all have days when we are just grumpy, irritable, and out of sorts.

It’s really easy on such days to get  snippy with our husbands, short with our kids, and just walk around all day with a thundercloud over our heads. Our kids avoid us, keep their heads down, or glare at us for the unfairness of being barked at for common, everyday mishaps.

I woke up like that today. Didn’t get enough sleep, the house is a mess and my kids…well… they’re acting like kids.

Sigh.

I prayed. Read my Bible. Still grumpy.

This is when I need a new attitude.

And I managed to find it.

My son loves to sing his hymns in the morning. So I crabbily dug out his hymn book and put the CD in.

I ran the water in the sink to tackle those dishes and listened to the first hymn that we always start with, my son’s very favorite.

This Is My Father’s World.

Just hearing my six year old’s sweet voice singing along with that classic hymn brought tears to my eyes. This IS my Father’s World. And to my listening ears, all nature sings, and round me rings the music of the spheres.

I think God is speaking to me all of the time. However, most of the time, my ears are not listening. My focus is on the dirty dishes, my kids who need so much from me, the dirt on the kitchen floor. The everyday cares of life scream at me, and I don’t tune my ears to Him.

This is why things like rain, chores, fatigue and headaches can so easily get me down.

This is my Father’s World.

And he does shine in all that’s fair.

In the rustling grass, I hear Him pass;

He speaks to me everywhere.

I just have to listen.

So today, right now, I’m making a conscious effort to slow down.

To listen for His voice.

To hear his calling to be the wife, the mother, the woman he wants me to be.

Isaiah 30:21

“And your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it,” when you turn to the right or when you turn to the left.”

Leave a Reply

My Fitness Pal Tracker

