February Reading

Yeah, I know it’s halfway through the month of March, but better late than never, right?

I was able to do much more reading than normal in February, thanks to the horrid weather. We had plenty of ice and snow, cooping us up in the house for days on end. Thankfully, the library basket was full during the bad weather stretches, so I did have plenty to read.

The Story of Charlotte’s Web by Michael Sims discusses E.B. White and how he was inspired to write this children’s favorite. I found it quite ironic that White was a farmer. I’ve always avoided the book to because I don’t want my children worried about the animals that we grow on our farm. However, White wanted to write a book that emphasized that life was short, so we should live it to the fullest.

The Best Yes by Lysa Terkeurst was wonderfully encouraging to me. As a Christian, I struggle with saying no to “good” opportunities. By judging which of life’s opportunities is for me, I can say Yes to the opportunities that God gives me, rather than just filling my time with good works.

Letting Go of Perfect by Amy Speigel really encouraged me to set aside my all or nothing mindset and embrace God’s grace for my life. I don’t have to be good enough to earn God’s favor. I can do the best that I can and he still loves me anyway!

Diary of a Cat by Leigh W. Rutledge was a fun, quick, entertaining read. It is a cat’s story, told from a cat’s point of view. Even my nine year old daughter enjoyed this book.

How Not to Look Fat by Danica Lo was another quick read. Ms. Lo tells how to dress so you will look your best. She is hilarious, compassionate and yet, still brutally honest about women’s bodies. She not only tells you how to dress, she tells you how to walk, how to stand when you have your picture made, and how to choose a flattering hairstyle. One thing I love about this book is that Ms. Lo isn’t a skinny mini telling us bigger girls this stuff. She admits that she’s not a stick figure, but it’s okay! Every woman can be beautiful!

And the Shofar Blew by Francine Rivers; I don’t read tons of fiction, mostly because I get hooked in a good story and everything else goes to pot around the house. However, this book was really worth the time. It describes how easily someone’s heart for the Lord can begin to get off track, becoming self-serving and prideful.

Shakespeare by Bill Bryson; I’m a huge fan of William Shakespeare. However, despite his fame, a surprisingly small amount of biographical information exists about his life. Bryson tackles the various theories about Shakespeare’s life and I appreciate the fact that he isn’t afraid to say, “We really don’t know for sure!”

What the Dog Saw by Malcolm  Gladwell tells the story behind the story of many day to day items and experiences. He talks about the origins of different kinds of ketchup, the story of hair dye, and other interesting but obscure topics.

The Fields of Home by Ralph Moody; I really liked this autobiographical story because it is centered on farm life. Mr. Moody went to his grandfather’s farm to help out as a teenager because he struggled adjusting to city life. His grandfather is rather cranky and curmudgeonly, but Ralph persists in trying to bring the farm up to date.

What are you reading this month?

Leave a Reply

My Fitness Pal Tracker

