Getting Fit for Summer–Join With Me!

I started writing about three years ago. In the first six months of freelancing, I gained ten pounds. In the two years since, I gained five. So hear I am, age 35, and 15 pounds heavier than I prefer to be.

I’m not overweight. I don’t think I would even be classified as chubby.

However, I am not happy with this turn of events.

It’s not necessarily about vanity.

(Although to be completely honest, there is a small component of that.)

It’s more about I don’t like how I feel.

I am too tired and my energy level and my mood depends entirely too much on chocolate, cookies, and other starchy, unhealthy goodies. I don’t like that. I don’t like feeling out of control and that my mind goes to food way too often. I’m not being the best me I can be, and how I eat and what I do is a huge part of that.

So it’s time to get serious. I’ve played at this “losing a few pounds” things for a couple of years and it is time to stop playing games. As a younger mom, I could always out-exercise my poor food choices. However, now that I am older (it started about the time I was 32 years old and 6 months), it doesn’t work that way anymore. What I eat has a huge impact on my health and I don’t have the time to exercise for an hour to make up for cake since my kids are older.

I joined My Fitness Pal this week to give myself some accountability and help me with tracking my eating and exercise. I don’t have a huge amount of confidence in their fitness tracker. (The site calculated that I burned almost 400 calories for jogging for about 30 minutes, and I think that is way too high!) However, just tracking my food choices in the last few days has helped.

Want to join me in getting healthy? Want to be my friend on My Fitness Pal? Create a free account and add me as a friend through the above link.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. fairfarmhand79
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 15:17:38

    I just added the new tracker at the bottom of the page!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Fitness Pal Tracker

