Creepy Kids Movies

I was thinking about kids books the other day. Certain authors were just weird. I remember thinking that Roald Dahl’s works were very strange. That led me to thinking about kids’ movies. I remember being rather creeped out by Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (the original one with Gene Wilder) but the award for the creepiest kids’ movie of my childhood goes to Return to Oz.

I loved the original Wizard of Oz, but the sequel that was released in 1985 was nightmare fodder. I remember thinking “Who says this is a kid’s movie! This is awful!” However scary it was, I still watched it several times.

I described this movie to my kids the other day, at least the parts that I could remember. The one scene that really stuck in my mind was the hallway of heads.

Am I the only kid who was scared to death of this movie? Anyone else creeped out by it?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lisajoyfulness
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 15:58:33

    I’m listening to your online conference! Thank you…so many helpful insights.

    And THIS MOVIE!!! Yes! I saw this as a child and was completely freaked out by it! AHHHH! 🙂 The wheelers and the part where they strap her down and put headphones on her were the most scary parts to me.

    Reply

  2. gracemamaof4
    Jul 01, 2015 @ 10:12:13

    I had pushed this movie back into the recesses of my mind…OMGosh! Why did they market this for children?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Fitness Pal Tracker

