Music Appreciation

I am not a great musician. I banged my way through four or five years of piano lessons and then dropped them in favor of basketball and softball in junior high. However, I do love good music and I want my children to be able to appreciate many forms of music. So many people never listen to music that isn’t on the Top 40 charts.

In the past couple of years, the kids and I have learned so much more about classical music of all kinds. We also have learned to appreciate music made by different instruments.

One key for us was starting to listen to music during our school lessons. A huge source of irritation in our house are the sounds that others make when we are trying to do lessons. Sniffles, coughs, tapping pencils, humming, whistling, and even the breathing of siblings can cause huge fights when I just want the kids to concentrate. I tried playing soft hymns, but then the kids would sing along, sometimes on key, sometimes off-key just to annoy each other. So I started trying instrumental songs.

We learned of some interesting music groups and some very talented musicians. Names like William Joseph, Han Zimmer, Two Cellos, Lindsey Stirling, and the Piano Guys are starting to roll off the tongues of my children. These musicians often play traditional instruments, but in a style that is never boring.

Here’s one of my favorite Piano Guys videos. I’ve never heard the One Direction song that it was originally based upon, but the tune is catchy. What’s more, I love how this video shows kids the different ways to make a piano sing.

What kind of music do you and your kids like? Do you try to branch out in the name of education?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fairfarmhand79
    May 31, 2015 @ 21:46:27

    By the way, the Piano Guys’ Let It Go video is incredibly awesome too!

    Reply

  2. Twin Acres Homestead
    Jun 01, 2015 @ 20:12:03

    This is great, we also try to listen to a wide range of music so our boys are exposed to different instruments and styles. Our 4 year old loves classical music and the baby loves to dance to bagpipes 🙂

    Reply

  3. Rebeca Jones
    Jun 18, 2015 @ 16:54:10

    Too funny. I just commented on your 2 Cellos post, telling you to check out the Piano Guys. Oops! Guess I shouldn’t get behind in keeping up on my feed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Fitness Pal Tracker

