Well Trained Mind Seminar—Slideshow Link

Today, I presented my seminar “Teaching ‘Ramona Quimby:’ Homeschooling the Intense Child.” I presented a slideshow along with my lecture. If you are interested, here is the link to it. I hope that the seminar went well. It’s hard to judge when you are presenting online whether or not you are boring people to death. I hope that it was somewhat helpful to those who are in the trenches with their intense, challenging, argumentative kids.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gentletitus2mama
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 16:02:11

    I really enjoyed it! 2 of my 5 children are quite intense kiddos with a 3rd that’s slightly less intense. I’m homeschooling my 7 year old intense son and it’s always an adventure. I could relate so much to the things you said!

    Reply

  2. Fe
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 16:06:48

    You could have been describing my oldest! (Well, actually… My three big kids, and I suspect number four will follow suit…) thanks for your talk, it was very interesting (I may have more questions when I wake again… It’s the middle of the night on this side of the world).

    I made a note of the book title (emotional intensity/gifted kids) someone else recommended—but was too slow to get the author. Could you possibly share it here?

    Reply

  3. Katie King
    Jun 16, 2015 @ 19:28:06

    It was helpful!

    Reply

  4. Doreen
    Jun 17, 2015 @ 13:40:10

    Thank you for holding this seminar. From the time my son was a toddler up to now (he’s 12) it has been a non-stop challenge. I have felt judgement from people in virtually every part of my life regarding my son’s behavior, homeschooling, and parenting. At this point, I am way more committed to doing what’s best for him and our family than to caring what others think and say.

    Your seminar was not boring. I was hanging on every word.

    Reply

    • fairfarmhand79
      Jun 17, 2015 @ 15:25:39

      Thank you so much for your kind words. I think it is so important to actually hear that you’re not a failure because your kid can be a real handful. Keep your chin up and you will make it.

      Reply

  5. Sarah Jo
    Jun 17, 2015 @ 15:44:37

    Adding my thanks for your helpful seminar. I have been so discouraged by my oldest’s intensity and my attitude has been terrible. I look forward to reading the recommendations that are unfamiliar–and finishing The Explosive Child!

    Reply

    • fairfarmhand79
      Jun 17, 2015 @ 16:15:22

      It is SO easy to get into a negative dynamic with these intense kids. After all, they would try the patience of a saint. Is it too much to ask to just put on their shoes without an explosion?

      However, I found that things went so much better if I could dig down deep and find a positive attitude. Intense kids frequently mirror the attitudes of those around them…and they often amplify it!

      Hang in there Mama!

      Reply

  6. Katharine
    Jun 19, 2015 @ 12:04:38

    So bummed I missed this, will there be a recording available?

    Reply

  7. April Edwards
    Jul 06, 2015 @ 20:34:59

    I appreciate all the ideas! Thank you! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

My Fitness Pal Tracker

