Getting It Done

Over the past few years, my part time work has gradually ratcheted up. I’ve also taken on some duties at our church and began a drama class that consumes at least six hours a week. Despite my other interests, we still have to tackle schoolwork and take care of our farm animals. All that to say, we’re pretty busy people and I have to be quite intentional about getting important stuff done.

So how do I do it? Well, here are a few tips that I’ve used through the years to stay on top of things. Of course, I frequently get behind, but when things are working well, these are the things that I do.

Make a list. I usually make a couple lists. I make a weekly list and a daily list. Sometimes, if I don’t have a pile of stuff on my weekly list, I just check things off of it and don’t do a daily list. But, if there’s a ton going on, I tend to get overwhelmed with a huge list of my whole week’s chores, so I need it broken down into daily tasks. Furthermore, I will break down my daily list into morning, afternoon, and evening tasks to keep myself on track. Everyone know that “If mom doesn’t write it down, it doesn’t happen!” so, my family makes sure that things get jotted down on mom’s notepad. These lists aren’t complicated, but I usually make them on a steno pad or other notebook that lives on my counter. Otherwise, the lists get misplaced.

Delegate. First thing in the morning, I decide which chores will go to which kid. If I don’t consciously make these decisions when I am planning my day, I tend to try to do too much while the kids sit around and do nothing.

Use Pre-Planned curricula. As much as I love the idea of curricula that combine library books, art projects, printouts, and lots of informal learning, I’ve figure out that they are not for me. I need things that are open and go. If things get crazy, those planning-intensive programs will not happen. So, I’ve chosen things that don’t require lots of prep work from me.

Simplify where at all possible. My meals are tasty and nutritious for the most part. But they are not extravagant. Most of our meals are 30 minutes or less of prep. On days that I have to leave the house in the afternoon and won’t get back until late, I plan a quick and simple or crock pot meal. Also, my kids eat (gasp) cereal for most breakfasts. I like to cook, but I don’t have time for extravagant at this time in our life. At least not on school days.

Use little chunks of time. Many tasks can be broken down into 10-15 minute increments. Don’t have a huge block of time to clean the living room? Tackle it ten minutes at a time. You can clean out the couch, dust, or wipe the baseboards in ten minutes at a time. If you do this a couple times per day, your living room will be clean by evening. Don’t waste those tiny fragments of time that come your way. If I pay attention, I can use them to get things knocked out quickly. I timed myself once. It takes me less than 5 minutes to unload the dishwasher!

Don’t get behind on dishes or laundry. If I do nothing else with housekeeping during the day, I always do dishes before bed and a full load of laundry, including folding and putting it away.

Don’t get more than a week behind on grading papers. I hate grading papers, but it’s worse when it’s a huge mound that takes an hour and a half to plow through.

Just one more thing. I know, at the end of the day, you’re tired and so am I. But sometimes, I need to push through and finish that one more thing before I quit for the night. Clear that counter. Fold that laundry. Straighten up the living room. Just do that one more thing before you quit and that’s one less that will be staring at you in the morning.

I still get woefully behind on certain tasks. However, by using the above tips, I generally can avoid my work becoming overwhelming. Remember, if everyone has clean socks and undies, and a full belly, you can live to fight another day.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

My Fitness Pal Tracker

