The Beegees and the Bible

The drama class that I teach is doing a show with a 1970s theme. In keeping with this, I’ve been checking out music from this decade. I ran across this beauty.

I was born in 1979, so I’ve heard the song. It’s one of those earworm songs that you sing for days after hearing it. I even knew that the Beegees sang it.

But, I’d never seen a picture of the Beegees.

I was shocked. At first, I thought someone had made a lip synched video of this song using weird white guys in tight pants with windblown hair singing Stayin’ Alive.

And then I realized…That IS the Beegees!

All these years, my impression of that group was that they were a group of black ladies! I don’t know where that idea came from but it’s been firmly cemented in my brain for my entire life.

I’m questioning everything I know abut my life!

Seriously, though this situation reminds me of myself far too often.

How many times have I thought something was in the Bible, perhaps even telling it to someone else to learn later, embarrassingly, that it’s not.

Stuff like

“Cleanliness is next to godliness.” (Not in the Bible)

“God helps those who help themselves.” (Nope. Not in the Bible either.)

“Hate the sin, love the sinner.” (Ironically, this is usually said when people are being rather unkind toward the people whose sins are being discussed. But nope, not in the Bible either.)

Anyway, there are things that people say all the time that sound good, but they’re not necessarily part of the Bible. As Christians, we need to make sure that all that we believe is grounded in the truth of God’s Word. And the only way to know God’s Word is to get in it.

We won’t know if we’re hearing Biblically based preaching, reading a book that complements the Word and our understanding of it, or know whether or not that statement that our relatives always say is, in fact, true.

The whole foundation of our faith rests upon the Holy Word of God. Don’t take for granted that you already know what’s in it. There’s no substitute for picking up the Bible and reading, studying, and learning about what is in it.

Yes, it is that important.

Even more important than knowing who the Beegees are!

 

Leave a Reply

Top Posts & Pages

My Fitness Pal Tracker

